

2 March 2015

SIAC Announces Appointments of New President and Members of the SIAC Court of Arbitration

SIAC is pleased to announce that Mr Gary Born of Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP (WilmerHale) has been appointed President of the SIAC Court of Arbitration with effect from 1 April 2015. Mr Cavinder Bull, SC of Drew & Napier LLC and Mr John Savage of King & Spalding LLP will continue as the Vice-Presidents of the SIAC Court of Arbitration for another term.

Five new members have been appointed to the SIAC Court of Arbitration. They are Ms Claudia Annacker of Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, Mr Lijun Cao of Zhong Lun Law Firm, Mr Toby Landau QC of Essex Court Chambers, Dr Eun Young Park of Kim & Chang (who is concurrently a member of SIAC's Board of Directors) and Ms Lucy Reed of Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer. These appointments will also take effect from 1 April 2015.

SIAC would like to thank the outgoing members of the SIAC Court of Arbitration, being Mr Hiroo Advani of Advani & Co., Mr Doak Bishop of King & Spalding LLP, Professor Julian Lew QC of 20 Essex Street and Mr Sean (Sungwoo) Lim of Lee & Ko, for all their contributions and support.

Mr Born is the Chair of the International Arbitration Practice Group at WilmerHale and a member of the SIAC Court of Arbitration. Mr Born has been ranked for the past 20 years as one of the world's leading international arbitration practitioners, and has participated in more than 600 international arbitrations, including four of the largest ICC arbitrations and several of the most significant ad hoc arbitrations in recent history. He is also the author of the pre-eminent treatise in the field, "International Commercial Arbitration" (Second Edition, Kluwer 2014).

Dr Michael Pryles, Founder President of the SIAC Court of Arbitration, will be stepping down from his role as President on 31 March 2015, and will remain a member of the SIAC Court of Arbitration. SIAC wishes to express its sincere thanks and appreciation to Dr Pryles, who has been instrumental in developing SIAC into a world-class arbitration centre during his term in office.

Mr Born said of his appointment, "I am honoured to be succeeding Michael as President of the SIAC Court of Arbitration. SIAC is one of the world's pre-eminent international arbitral institutions and I am privileged to have the opportunity to serve as President. I look forward to working with the SIAC Court of Arbitration and the SIAC Secretariat to ensure that SIAC is firmly at the forefront of international arbitration, both in Asia and worldwide."

Dr Pryles commented, "I am delighted that Gary has accepted the position of President of the SIAC Court of Arbitration. Gary is one of the most highly regarded arbitration experts in the world and I have every confidence that he will play a pivotal role in SIAC's continued growth and success."

From 1 April 2015, the SIAC Court of Arbitration will comprise 17 internationally recognised arbitration practitioners and arbitrators from around the world, including Australia, Belgium, China, France, India, Japan, Korea, Singapore, UK and the USA. The main functions of the SIAC Court of Arbitration include the appointment of arbitrators, the determination of jurisdictional challenges and challenges to arbitrators, as well as overall supervision of case administration at the Centre.

The members of the SIAC Court of Arbitration from 1 April 2015 are as follows:

- 1. Mr Gary Born Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP, UK (President)
- 2. Dr Michael Pryles Melbourne, Australia (Founder President)
- 3. Mr Cavinder Bull, SC Drew & Napier LLC, Singapore (Vice-President)
- 4. Mr John Savage King & Spalding LLP, Singapore (Vice-President)
- 5. Ms Claudia Annacker Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, France
- 6. Mr Lijun Cao Zhong Lun Law Firm, China
- 7. Mr Paul Friedland White & Case LLP, USA
- 8. Mr Emmanuel Gaillard Shearman & Sterling LLP, France
- 9. Dr Bernard Hanotiau Hanotiau & van den Berg, Belgium
- 10. Mr Toby Landau QC Essex Court Chambers, UK
- 11. Dr Eun Young Park Kim & Chang, Korea
- 12. Professor Jan Paulsson Three Crowns LLP, USA
- 13. Ms Lucy Reed Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, Singapore
- 14. Mr Harish Salve SA Blackstone Chambers, India
- 15. Mr Hiroyuki Tezuka Nishimura & Asahi, Japan
- 16. Ms Ariel Ye King & Wood Mallesons, China
- 17. Mr Alvin Yeo, SC Wong Partnership LLP, Singapore

For more information please contact:

Singapore International Arbitration Centre

- T: +65 6221 8833
- E: <u>corpcomms@siac.org.sg</u>
- W: www.siac.org.sg