

28 September 2021

SIAC Announces New Board and Court Members

The Singapore International Arbitration Centre (SIAC) is pleased to announce new members to its Board of Directors and Court of Arbitration.

Appointments to the Board

Five new Directors have been appointed to SIAC's Board under the chairmanship of Mr Davinder Singh, SC. The new Board members are:

- 1. Mr Siraj <u>Omar</u>, SC Drew & Napier LLC, Singapore
- 2. Ms Lucy <u>Reed</u> Arbitration Chambers, USA
- 3. Mr Gerald Singham Dentons Rodyk & Davidson LLP, Singapore
- 4. Mr Luke <u>Sobota</u> Three Crowns LLP, USA
- 5. Ms Ariel <u>Ye</u> King & Wood Mallesons, China

Mr Chong Yee Leong has been appointed as Deputy Chairman.

Mr Davinder Singh, SC said of the Board, "I am delighted that Siraj, Lucy, Gerald, Luke and Ariel have joined SIAC as Board members. SIAC will benefit from their wealth of experience, and I look forward to working closely with them."

Appointments to the Court

Ms Lucy Reed, a Vice President of the SIAC Court of Arbitration since 2018, will succeed Mr Gary Born as President. Mr Gary Born will step down on 30 September 2021, after three terms as President of the Court, in line with his desire to ensure continuing access to new perspectives at SIAC, and in response to the increasing demands of his practice as counsel.

Mr Gary Born played a key part in enhancing and innovating SIAC's services since joining the Court in 2013 and being appointed President in 2015. During his tenure, SIAC has grown significantly, from a caseload of 222 cases in 2014 to a caseload of 1,080 cases in 2020, together with the opening of new representative offices in China, India and the United States. SIAC's reach has expanded, with parties from more than 60 jurisdictions choosing to arbitrate at SIAC. SIAC was the first major commercial arbitration institution to publish a set of arbitration rules incorporating an early dismissal procedure, and is at the forefront of the use of emergency arbitrator, expedited procedure and consolidation/joinder provisions. SIAC also published a specialised set of investment arbitration rules in 2017, to specifically deal with issues relating to

arbitral proceedings involving States, State-controlled entities and intergovernmental organisations, and has been at the forefront of thought leadership in international dispute resolution.

Nine new members have been appointed to SIAC's Court of Arbitration. The new Court members are:

- 1. Ms Olufunke <u>Adekoya</u> AELEX, Nigeria
- 2. Mr Jose <u>Amado</u> Miranda & Amado, Peru
- 3. Mr Pierre <u>Bienvenu</u> Norton Rose Fulbright, Canada
- 4. Mr Chan Leng Sun, SC Duxton Hill Chambers (Singapore Group Practice), Singapore
- 5. Mr Dmitry <u>Dyakin</u> Rybalkin, Gortsunyan & Partners, Russia
- 6. Ms Karina Goldberg Ferro, Castro Neves, Daltro & Gomide (FCDG), Brazil
- 7. Mr Benjamin <u>Hughes</u> The Arbitration Chambers, Singapore
- 8. Prof Dr Guido <u>Tawil</u> Uruguay
- 9. Mr Gaëtan <u>Verhoosel</u> Three Crowns LLP, UK

Mr Toby Landau QC has been appointed as Vice President of the SIAC Court of Arbitration, and will serve alongside Vice President Mr Cavinder Bull, SC.

SIAC is deeply appreciative of Mr Gary Born, Ms Julie Bedard and Ms Ariel Ye, for their invaluable contributions and unstinting support to the Court of SIAC.

Mr Gary Born said, "It has been a fulfilling experience to have been a small part of SIAC, working alongside talented colleagues and stakeholders alike, to achieve our common vision of securing SIAC's position as a preeminent global arbitration institution. I have no doubt whatsoever that Lucy will continue to advance SIAC's goals and take SIAC to further achievements."

Ms Lucy Reed said, "I am honoured to succeed Gary as President of the SIAC Court of Arbitration. Gary has led the Court from strength to strength, leaving us well-positioned to take on the new challenges of the era. It is ever more important to ensure that the quality and efficiency of the Court make SIAC a first choice of users in Asia and beyond."

Mr Davinder Singh, SC, said, "Gary played an integral role in the achievements of SIAC during his tenure. On behalf of SIAC, I would like to express our sincere appreciation to Gary for his many contributions. I am delighted that Lucy has agreed to succeed Gary as President of the Court. We look forward to working with her to take SIAC to the next level."

For more information, please contact:

Singapore International Arbitration Centre T: +65 6713 9777 E: <u>corpcomms@siac.org.sg</u> W: <u>www.siac.org.sg</u>

Annex

The members of SIAC's Board of Directors are as follows:

- 1. Mr Davinder Singh, SC Davinder Singh Chambers LLC, Singapore (Chairman)
- 2. Mr <u>Chong</u> Yee Leong Allen & Gledhill LLP, Singapore (Deputy Chairman)
- 3. Mr Rajiv K Luthra L&L Partners (formerly Luthra & Luthra Law Offices), India
- 4. Dr Michael Moser 20 Essex Street, Hong Kong SAR
- 5. Mr Siraj <u>Omar</u>, SC Drew & Napier LLC, Singapore
- 6. Ms Lucy <u>Reed</u> Arbitration Chambers, USA
- 7. Mr Gerald Singham Dentons Rodyk & Davidson LLP, Singapore
- 8. Mr Luke Sobota Three Crowns LLP, USA
- 9. Mr <u>Tham</u> Sai Choy Singapore
- 10. Ms Ariel Ye King & Wood Mallesons, China

The members of SIAC's Court of Arbitration are as follows:

- 1. Ms Lucy <u>Reed</u> Arbitration Chambers, USA (President)
- 2. Mr Cavinder <u>Bull</u>, SC Drew & Napier LLC, Singapore (Vice President)
- 3. Mr Toby <u>Landau</u> QC Duxton Hill Chambers (Singapore Group Practice), Singapore and UK (Vice President)
- 4. Ms Olufunke Adekoya AELEX, Nigeria
- 5. Mr Jose <u>Amado</u> Miranda & Amado, Peru
- 6. Ms Catherine <u>Amirfar</u> Debevoise & Plimpton LLP, USA
- 7. Dr Claudia <u>Annacker</u> Dechert LLP, France
- 8. Mr John P. <u>Bang</u> Peter & Kim, South Korea
- 9. Ms Yas Banifatemi Gaillard Banifatemi Shelbaya Disputes, France
- 10. Mr Pierre Bienvenu Norton Rose Fulbright, Canada
- 11. Mr Nigel Blackaby QC Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, USA
- 12. Prof Lawrence Boo The Arbitration Chambers, Singapore
- 13. Mr Cao Lijun Zhong Lun Law Firm, China
- 14. Mr Chan Leng Sun, SC Duxton Hill Chambers (Singapore Group Practice), Singapore
- 15. Mr K. Minh <u>Dang</u> YKVN, Vietnam
- 16. Mr Dmitry Dyakin Rybalkin, Gortsunyan & Partners, Russia
- 17. Ms Jessica Fei King & Wood Mallesons, China
- 18. Ms Karina Goldberg Ferro, Castro Neves, Daltro & Gomide (FCDG), Brazil
- 19. Prof Bernard <u>Hanotiau</u> Hanotiau & van den Berg, Belgium
- 20. Mr Eri Hertiawan Assegaf Hamzah & Partners, Indonesia
- 21. Prof Benjamin Hughes The Arbitration Chambers, Singapore
- 22. Mr Tejas Karia Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co., India
- 23. Mr Darius Khambata, SC India
- 24. Mr Fernando Mantilla-Serrano Latham & Watkins LLP, France
- 25. Ms K. Shanti Mogan Shearn Delamore & Co., Malaysia
- 26. Ms Shaneen Parikh Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas, India
- 27. Dr Eun Young Park Kim & Chang, South Korea
- 28. Mr Philippe Pinsolle Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan, LLP, Switzerland

- 29. Mr Harish Salve QC Blackstone Chambers, India
- 30. Mr John <u>Savage</u> QC King & Spalding LLP, UK
- 31. Mr Michael E. <u>Schneider</u> Lalive, Switzerland
- 32. Ms Abby Cohen Smutny White & Case LLP, USA
- 33. Mr Thomas Snider Al Tamimi & Co., UAE
- 34. Prof Dr Guido <u>Tawil</u> Uruguay
- 35. Mr Hiroyuki Tezuka Nishimura & Asahi, Japan
- 36. Mr Alan <u>Thambiayah</u> The Arbitration Chambers, Singapore
- 37. Mr Gaëtan <u>Verhoosel</u> Three Crowns LLP, UK
- 38. Mr Alvin Yeo, SC WongPartnership LLP, Singapore