

## 15 May 2017

## **SIAC Announces Appointment of New Board and Court members**

The Singapore International Arbitration Centre (SIAC) is pleased to announce the appointment of new members to its Board of Directors and Court of Arbitration with effect from 1 April 2017.

Three new Directors have been appointed to SIAC's Board under the chairmanship of Mr Davinder Singh, SC. They are Mr Chan Leng Sun, SC, of Baker McKenzie Wong & Leow, Mr Chong Yee Leong of Allen & Gledhill LLP and Mr Tham Sai Choy of KPMG Asia Pacific. Mr Chan will take over as Deputy Chairman from Mr Cavinder Bull, SC, also with effect from 1 April 2017.

SIAC would like to express its deepest appreciation and gratitude to the five outgoing Board members for their dedication, commitment and tireless efforts during their term of office, namely, Mr Cavinder Bull, SC, Mr Gautam Banerjee, Mr John Savage QC, Mr Giles White and Ms Jeanette Wong. During their term of service, SIAC achieved a number of significant milestones, culminating in an all-time record year in 2016, where it received the highest ever number of cases. Mr Bull and Mr Savage will continue to serve as Vice Presidents on the Court.

Four new members have been appointed to SIAC's Court of Arbitration, which continues under the leadership of Mr Gary Born as its President. They are Professor Lawrence Boo and Mr Alan Thambiayah of The Arbitration Chambers, Ms Catherine Amirfar of Debevoise & Plimpton LLP and Mr Nigel Blackaby of Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer.

Mr Davinder Singh, SC, commented, "I would like to thank our outgoing directors for their immeasurable contributions to SIAC. I am delighted that Leng Sun, Sai Choy and Yee Leong have agreed to serve as Board members. SIAC will benefit from their experience and unique perspectives. I look forward to working closely with them."

Mr Gary Born said of the new Court appointments, "I am delighted to welcome our new Court members who bring with them a wealth of experience and deep specialist knowledge in both commercial as well as investment arbitration. Their impressive reputations and professionalism will enhance the international standing and profile of SIAC."

The members of SIAC's Board of Directors from 1 April 2017 are as follows:

1. Mr Davinder <u>Singh</u>, SC – Drew & Napier LLC, Singapore (Chairman) (appointed on 16 December 2016)

- 2. Mr Chan Leng Sun, SC Baker McKenzie Wong & Leow, Singapore (Deputy Chairman)
- 3. Mr Chong Yee Leong Allen & Gledhill LLP, Singapore
- 4. Mr Nishith <u>Desai</u> Nishith Desai Associates, India
- 5. Mr David Liu Jun He Law Offices, China
- 6. Mr Rajiv <u>Luthra</u> Luthra & Luthra Law Offices, India
- 7. Dr Michael Moser 20 Essex Street, Hong Kong
- 8. Mr Chelva Rajah, SC Tan, Rajah & Cheah, Singapore
- 9. Mr Tham Sai Choy KPMG Asia Pacific, Singapore

## The members of SIAC's Court of Arbitration from 1 April 2017 are as follows:

- 1. Mr Gary Born Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP, UK (President)
- 2. Dr Michael Pryles AO PBM Melbourne, Australia (Founder President)
- 3. Mr Cavinder <u>Bull</u>, SC Drew & Napier LLC, Singapore (Vice President)
- 4. Mr John Savage QC King & Spalding LLP, UK (Vice President)
- 5. Ms Catherine Amirfar Debevoise & Plimpton LLP, USA
- 6. Dr Claudia Annacker Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, France
- 7. Mr Nigel Blackaby Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, USA
- 8. Prof Lawrence <u>Boo</u> The Arbitration Chambers, Singapore
- 9. Mr Cao Lijun Zhong Lun Law Firm, China
- 10. Mr Paul Friedland White & Case LLP, USA
- 11. Mr Emmanuel Gaillard Shearman & Sterling LLP, France
- 12. Prof Bernard Hanotiau Hanotiau & van den Berg, Belgium
- 13. Mr Darius Khambata, SC India
- 14. Mr Toby Landau QC Essex Court Chambers, UK
- 15. Dr Eun Young Park Kim & Chang, Korea
- 16. Prof Jan Paulsson Three Crowns LLP, USA
- 17. Ms Lucy <u>Reed</u> Centre for International Law, National University of Singapore, Singapore
- 18. Mr Harish Salve, SC Blackstone Chambers, India
- 19. Mr Hiroyuki Tezuka Nishimura & Asahi, Japan
- 20. Mr Alan <u>Thambiayah</u> The Arbitration Chambers, Singapore
- 21. Ms Ariel Ye King & Wood Mallesons, China
- 22. Mr Alvin Yeo, SC WongPartnership LLP, Singapore

## For more information, please contact:

Singapore International Arbitration Centre

T: +65 6713 9777

E: corpcomms@siac.org.sg

W: www.siac.org.sg