

## 6 June 2019

## **SIAC Announces Appointment of New Court Members**

The Singapore International Arbitration Centre (SIAC) is pleased to announce the appointment of new members to its Court of Arbitration.

Fourteen new members have been appointed to SIAC's Court of Arbitration, which continues under the leadership of Mr Gary Born as its President. The new Court members are:

- 1. Mr John P. Bang Bae, Kim & Lee LLC, South Korea
- 2. Ms Yas <u>Banifatemi</u> Shearman & Sterling, France
- 3. Ms Julie <u>Bedard</u> Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP and Affiliates, USA
- 4. Mr K. Minh <u>Dang</u> YKVN, Vietnam
- 5. Ms Jessica Fei King & Wood Mallesons, China
- 6. Mr Eri <u>Hertiawan</u> Assegaf Hamzah & Partners, Indonesia
- 7. Mr Tejas Karia Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co., India
- 8. Mr Fernando Mantilla-Serrano Latham & Watkins LLP, France
- 9. Ms K. Shanti Mogan Shearn Delamore & Co., Malaysia
- 10. Ms Shaneen Parikh Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas, India
- 11. Mr Philippe Pinsolle Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan, LLP, Switzerland
- 12. Mr Michael E. Schneider Lalive, Switzerland
- 13. Ms Abby Cohen Smutny White & Case LLP, USA
- 14. Mr Thomas Snider Al Tamimi & Co., UAE

SIAC would like to express its heartfelt thanks and appreciation to the three outgoing Court members, Mr Paul Friedland, Mr Emmanuel Gaillard, and Mr Jan Paulsson, as well as the outgoing Board member, Mr Nishith Desai, for their dedication, commitment and unstinting support. During their term of service, SIAC achieved a number of significant milestones, notably its ranking as the 3<sup>rd</sup> most preferred arbitral institution in the world in the prestigious Queen Mary University of London and White & Case International Arbitration Survey, which underscores its position as the most preferred arbitral institution in Asia.

SIAC's Board of Directors continues under the chairmanship of Mr Davinder Singh, SC, who commented, "I would like to thank our outgoing director, Nishith, for his invaluable contributions to SIAC. I am delighted to be working again with Gary, my fellow Board members and the team at SIAC to continue to deliver the highest levels of service and innovation to users all over the world."

Mr Gary Born said of the new Court appointments, "We are indebted to our outgoing Court members, Emmanuel, Jan and Paul, for their hard work and tremendous contributions. It is a great pleasure to be working again with Davinder, the Court and the SIAC team. I extend a warm welcome to our new Court members whose illustrious reputations and stature in the international arbitration community and deep specialist knowledge across diverse legal systems and cultures will ensure that SIAC remains at the forefront of cutting-edge developments in the law and practice of commercial as well as investment arbitration."

Ms Lim Seok Hui, CEO of SIAC, said, "We are extremely grateful to the Board and the Court for their extraordinary efforts and contributions in putting SIAC firmly on the world map, and wish to express our special thanks to Davinder and Gary for their visionary, and truly inspirational, leadership and guidance. With their wealth of experience and unmatched dynamism, we are confident that SIAC will burnish its standing as a global leader in dispute resolution services."

The members of SIAC's Board of Directors are as follows:

- 1. Mr Davinder Singh, SC Davinder Singh Chambers LLC, Singapore (Chairman)
- 2. Mr <u>Chan</u> Leng Sun, SC Essex Court Chambers Duxton (Singapore Group Practice), Singapore (Deputy Chairman)
- 3. Mr Chong Yee Leong Allen & Gledhill LLP, Singapore
- 4. Mr David Liu Jun He Law Offices, China
- 5. Mr Rajiv K Luthra L&L Partners (formerly Luthra & Luthra Law Offices), India
- 6. Dr Michael Moser 20 Essex Street, Hong Kong SAR
- 7. Mr Chelva R. Rajah, SC Tan Rajah & Cheah, Singapore
- 8. Mr Tham Sai Choy Singapore

The members of SIAC's Court of Arbitration are as follows:

- 1. Mr Gary Born Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP, UK (President)
- 2. Dr Michael Pryles AO PBM Melbourne, Australia (Founder President)
- 3. Mr Cavinder Bull, SC Drew & Napier LLC, Singapore (Vice President)
- 4. Prof Lucy <u>Reed</u> Centre for International Law, National University of Singapore, Singapore (Vice President)
- 5. Ms Catherine Ami<u>rfar</u> Debevoise & Plimpton LLP, USA
- 6. Dr Claudia Annacker Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, France
- 7. Mr John P. <u>Bang</u> Bae, Kim & Lee LLC, South Korea
- 8. Ms Yas <u>Banifatemi</u> Shearman & Sterling, France
- 9. Ms Julie Bedard Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP and Affiliates, USA
- 10. Mr Nigel Blackaby Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, USA
- 11. Prof Lawrence Boo The Arbitration Chambers, Singapore
- 12. Mr Cao Lijun Zhong Lun Law Firm, China
- 13. Mr K. Minh Dang YKVN, Vietnam
- 14. Ms Jessica Fei King & Wood Mallesons, China
- 15. Prof Bernard Hanotiau Hanotiau & van den Berg, Belgium
- 16. Mr Eri Hertiawan Assegaf Hamzah & Partners, Indonesia
- 17. Mr Tejas Karia Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co., India

- 18. Mr Darius Khambata, SC India
- 19. Mr Toby <u>Landau</u> QC Essex Court Chambers Duxton (Singapore Group Practice) and Essex Court Chambers (London), Singapore and UK
- 20. Mr Fernando Mantilla-Serrano Latham & Watkins LLP, France
- 21. Ms K. Shanti Mogan Shearn Delamore & Co., Malaysia
- 22. Ms Shaneen Parikh Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas, India
- 23. Dr Eun Young Park Kim & Chang, South Korea
- 24. Mr Philippe Pinsolle Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan, LLP, Switzerland
- 25. Mr Harish Salve, SC Blackstone Chambers, India
- 26. Mr John Savage QC King & Spalding LLP, UK
- 27. Mr Michael E. Schneider Lalive, Switzerland
- 28. Ms Abby Cohen Smutny White & Case LLP, USA
- 29. Mr Thomas Snider Al Tamimi & Co., UAE
- 30. Mr Hiroyuki <u>Tezuka</u> Nishimura & Asahi, Japan
- 31. Mr Alan <u>Thambiayah</u> The Arbitration Chambers, Singapore
- 32. Ms Ariel Ye King & Wood Mallesons, China
- 33. Mr Alvin Yeo, SC WongPartnership LLP, Singapore

## For more information, please contact:

Singapore International Arbitration Centre

T: +65 6713 9777

E: corpcomms@siac.org.sg

W: www.siac.org.sg