

8 May 2018

SIAC Announces Appointment of New Court Vice President

The Singapore International Arbitration Centre (SIAC) is pleased to announce the appointment of Prof Lucy Reed as a Vice President of the SIAC Court of Arbitration with effect from 29 June 2018. Prof Reed succeeds Mr John Savage QC, who previously served as a member of the SIAC Board of Directors from 2009 to 2017, and concurrently served as a Vice President of the SIAC Court of Arbitration from 2013 to March 2018. Mr Savage will continue to serve as a member of the SIAC Court.

Prof Reed is the Director of the Centre for International Law and Professor on the Law Faculty of the National University of Singapore. She previously led the global international arbitration group in Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, and has represented private and public clients in investment treaty and commercial arbitrations for more than 35 years. She now sits regularly as arbitrator in commercial and investment treaty cases.

Prof Reed said of her appointment, "I am honoured and excited to be taking on this role, and look forward to working closely with Gary, Cavinder and other SIAC Court members and the SIAC Secretariat to ensure that SIAC stays right at the very top of global arbitral institutions."

Mr Gary Born, President of the SIAC Court of Arbitration, commented, "I am delighted to welcome Lucy as our new Vice President. She brings with her a wealth of experience and deep specialist knowledge in both commercial as well as investment arbitration. Her impressive reputation and professionalism will further enhance the international standing and profile of SIAC. We are deeply appreciative to John for his many insightful contributions during his term as Vice President, and for his continued support as a member of the SIAC Court."

Following this latest appointment, the members of the SIAC Court of Arbitration are as follows:

- 1. Mr Gary Born Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP, UK (President)
- 2. Mr Cavinder <u>Bull</u>, SC Drew & Napier LLC, Singapore (Vice President)
- 3. Prof Lucy <u>Reed</u> Centre for International Law, National University of Singapore, Singapore (Vice President)
- 4. Dr Michael Pryles AO PBM Melbourne, Australia (Founder President)
- 5. Ms Catherine Amirfar Debevoise & Plimpton LLP, USA
- 6. Dr Claudia Annacker Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, France
- 7. Mr Nigel Blackaby Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, USA
- 8. Prof Lawrence Boo The Arbitration Chambers, Singapore
- 9. Mr Cao Lijun Zhong Lun Law Firm, China
- 10. Mr Paul Friedland White & Case LLP, USA

- 11. Mr Emmanuel Gaillard Shearman & Sterling LLP, France
- 12. Prof Bernard <u>Hanotiau</u> Hanotiau & van den Berg, Belgium
- 13. Mr Darius Khambata, SC India
- 14. Mr Toby Landau QC Essex Court Chambers, UK
- 15. Dr Eun Young Park Kim & Chang, Korea
- 16. Prof Jan Paulsson Three Crowns LLP, USA
- 17. Mr Harish Salve, SC Blackstone Chambers, India
- 18. Mr John Savage QC King & Spalding LLP, UK
- 19. Mr Hiroyuki <u>Tezuka</u> Nishimura & Asahi, Japan
- 20. Mr Alan <u>Thambiayah</u> The Arbitration Chambers, Singapore
- 21. Ms Ariel <u>Ye</u> King & Wood Mallesons, China
- 22. Mr Alvin Yeo, SC WongPartnership LLP, Singapore

For more information, please contact:

Singapore International Arbitration Centre

T: +65 6713 9777

E: corpcomms@siac.org.sg

W: www.siac.org.sg